Boston & Nantucket Campuses open on a limited basis.

MAAH Stone Book Award




Save the date for the Award event on October 15, 2020!

The Museum of African American History (MAAH) Stone Book Award is an annual prize that encourages scholarship and writing within the field of African American history and culture by awarding a $25,000 prize and two $5,000 finalist prizes (increased from $2,500 for 2020) for exceptional adult non-fiction books written in a literary style.

Learn more about the book award here

For the full list of the 2020 MAAH Stone Book Award Submissions, click here.


  • To recognize new literary work in the field of African American history and culture
  • To nurture and inspire future scholarly writing in the field
  • To reinforce the necessity of continuously examining history
  • To foster community engagement and dialogue centered around a widely accessible new literary work
  • To celebrate the joy of learning through reading in partnership with an appreciation of the American historical, cultural artifacts held by the museum to tell stories of the African American experience
  • To celebrate the history of the successful abolitionist movement that began in Boston and the unity between races that it exemplified and fostered


2019 (For full list of our 2019 submissions click here)

WINNER: Julius S. Scott, The Common Wind: Afro-American Currents in the Age of the Haitian Revolution

FINALIST: Kellie Carter Jackson, Force and Freedom: Black Abolitionists and the Politics of Violence

FINALIST: Mary Schmidt Campbell, An American Odyssey: The Life and Work of Romare Bearden

Watch the 2019 Award Event featuring our 2019 Winners and

Host of WGBH’s Under the Radar Callie Crossley!



WINNER: Tera W. Hunter, Bound in Wedlock: Slave and Free Black Marriage in the Nineteenth Century

FINALIST: Jeffrey C. Stewart: The New Negro: The Life of Alain Locke

FINALIST: Lawrence P. Jackson: Chester B. Himes: A Biography




Be sure to follow us on social media for award updates:


twitter: @MAAHStoneBook